I have played many of zelda games in my life. gone on many adventures with link, defeated gannondorf, and saved princess zelda many of times. but The Legend of Zelda: The Minishing Cap is by far the worst of the bunch. Never have i been so bored, so confused and so clueless while slashing away at enemies just because theyre there.
Plot: so basically youve become bffs with zelda but she is turned to stone by an evil sorceror(?) and you have to colect the 4 elements and fuse them with the sword to save, im not sure what the four elements have to do with it but whatever.
Pretty bland right? well they try to throw some extras like you can become tiny because of society called the minish, and its a society that only little kids and animals can see, which is why they must entrust link to save zelda.
Like i said, the plot is sort of bland, and it doesnt really evolve much, nor does it really get interesting. but it is refreshing that theres no ganon...
Controls: the gameplay is sort of classic zelda, but u mind you this is on the gameboy and the controls are are different, and extremley noticable. using your shield is no longer automatic and ur sword is no longer automatically equiped. and you dont using items with the L or R button, nope you have 2 options to use ur items, u can use ur sword and boomerang or your boomerang and shield or bombs and shield, etc...because of this your switching A LOT which can get annoying.
Gaemplay: as i said its classic zelda gameplay, you slash monster, collect rupees and hearts etc. but the biggest difference is the increase in puzzles. some people might this is a good thing but its not. the puzzle are either really easy or really hard. to the point where you find yourself stuck walking around hyrule for about 30 minutes backtracking to see what your missing. its not new that u need the newest items to advance the game. but this game relies so heavily on them, that if you wanted to, you cant get the "elements" out of order the way you could in previous zelda games.
Another addition to the gameplay is the introduction of "keystones" which is a stone broken in two, you collect them and find other people or creatures or statues, to fuse them with. theyre supposed to bring happiness when you do. which includes heart peieces, and rupees. other than that, they serve no purpose. theres only a couple of times where keystone actually help you advance the game. but its so obviously redundant, that it just becomes an inconvience.
One thing i do like about the game are the items that you get to pick, like the wind jar which sucks things up and this cane thing that jettisons you and flips things over. items like these made the game fun to play because they were fun to use.
Overall, dont waste your time with the game, unless your a die hard zelda fan. because you will get stuck...A LOT, bcuz they often put puzzles there that just arent very visable. like an hole you have to bomb but theres no indication that the wall can be bombed. the one few bright spots in the game, is the score. obviously. Zelda is second to only Final Fantasy when it comes to game score. but the sound effects sound like the first nintendo and some of them were even stolen for mario bros...
No comments:
Post a Comment