Friday, August 13, 2010

scott pilgrim vs the world review

first of all let me say, this was effing awesome, and im gonna try my best not give any spoilers. in fact, if i feel like its possibly a spoiler itll b in caps.

but there was soemthing that really ticked me off in the movie, and i think that it doesnt matter if you havent read the comic or not to have picked up on it, but i will get to that later.

the movie stays very true to the comic, very true, i mean it was really like being in the comic. which was the best thing about the movie, cuz it was fun as shit to watch. i wish more movies would follow this style. the story stayed true until the ending for obvious reason, which is perfectly understandable. its almost everything you could hope for in a comic-movie.

Acting: the acting was surprisingly good, with a couple of exceptions, but i will go down the list. starting with scott

Michael cera surprised the shit out of me. but in a good way. this was michael cera at his best. his best performance since superbad. but it wasnt perfect. there were times i totally believed he was scott, then there were times he was flat, and he showed himself. but overall i gotta give it to him. he nailed some key lines, and VERY surprisingly he fought well when it wasnt his double.

KNIVES: Ellen wong is THE ONLY person who got their respective character perfect. she was phenominal, forget the fact that she looks like knives, she was amazing. thats all i have to say about that.

WALLACE: was the biggest surprise to me, the guy who played did a pretty good job despite not looking him. between him and knives, they help carry the movie. he also the most depth of all the characters, which is actually a little sad when you think about it.

STEPHAN: slightly disappointing, because he didnt seem like stephan thru most of the movie. If uve never read the comic, u might think hes good, well he was, just not as stephan stills.

KIM: was also surprisingly good. actually, thinking about it, she played kim really good, almost perfect. but not a lot of depth.

YOUNG NIEL: im not sure what to make of him, he wasnt bad, but he wasnt good, he was above average at best, but it might not be his fault tho, the writers/directors kinda threw him aside.

JULIE: i hated julie, the only thing she did good was being a bitch, but thats it, she was EXTREMELY bland and flat. easily the worst performance

ENVY: another character that was thrown away. for whatever reason, they thought it was a good idea to make her not important, shes kinda important for like 5 min, the she disappears. not only that, but she was more of a characiture(?) than a character

EVIL EXES: Chris evens was pretty damn good as lucas, and pretty damn funny. everybody was pretty good, with the exception of the twins who didnt have any lines, but brandon routh and chris evans were the highlights.

RAMONA: i purposely left her last. Mary played ramona the best she could, but the problem wasnt mary, it was ramona. she was all wrong. she came off as bitchy the whole movie, with the exception of one or two scenes. she was very 2 dimensional, she basically had the same thing on her mind the whole movie. she just wasnt likable in the movie, in fact if i hadnt read the comic, i would be asking myself, "why does scott love her again?" her character was butchered by the writers.

visually and technically, this movie was amazing. but the plot lot wasnt. i didnt like the plot actually. for beginners, the supporting characters had more depth than the leads, which is never good. there was a lot missing that had nothing to do with the comic. for one there wasnt much chemistry between michael and mary, and thats because they didnt have very many chances. after about the 2 or 3rd ex, theres a change that happens that completely ruined the movie for me KINDA A SPOILER ALERT: SCOTTS LOVE FOR RAMONA WASNT RESIPRECATED(?) IT WAS VERY ONE SIDED, AND I DIDNT LIKE IT. SCOTT WAS GIVING AND GIVING, AND SHE WAS TAKING AND TAKING, NEVER GIVING OR RETURNING. that mutual feeling just wasnt there, it was missing and it was required for validating the ending. because the ending just doesnt gel with the rest of the movie because of it.

other than that, the fights were amazing, it witty, funny, and it was a ball to watch the fights and the banter between character. do i recommend this movie? if ur not plot person yes...

No comments:

Post a Comment